I’m a guy, mid forties, just graduated with a Masters in History  from the University of Central arkansas, and, yeah, it’s my fault. 

 

I want to be a writer, and not just any writer!  I want to be a sci-fi/fantasy writer!  This, by default, makes me odd, strange, weird…but in a good way, I think.  At least I hope so.  Of course, I want to be disgustingly successful, too.  Like King, revered by masses of cheering fans, like Tolkien, but I pretty much have given up on being a rock star.  I guess I can settle for the first two.

 

I also want to be a lecturer at the college level somewhere.  You know, the guy (or gal! I am a reluctantly admitted feminist due to a Gender History class I took…damn you, Wendy Castro and your sweet, sweet reason!!!)

standing up front with that cool, $20 wooden pedestal thingy, torturing the best and brightest of our children…at least the ones willing to fork over the dough and sign up for my History course. 

 

I also got my Bachelor’s degree in Computer Information Systems in 1999 from Arkansas Tech University.  This makes me a Geek, I guess.  I know that I am prone to random bouts of what I call TechnoLust.  That is when I see some new bit of technological voodoo that just came out, or, even worse,  somebody else has in their sweaty hands and I don’t!  I want it.  No, not want…need it! And, the sooner the better!  because if I don’t get it, I’ll just DIE!!!  Luckily, my bank is aware of this disease I have and regularly rejects all my drool-sodden checks written to technology pushers like Best Buy or Egghead.  This  gives me a chance to shake off the fever and chills of the TechnoLust, then rip them up before I infect anyone else.

 

What sort of History am I interested in?  Most of it, actually.  But especially the military aspects, the cool stuff, with swords, shields, people sweating, bleeding, and dying for their cause/religion/nation/city/state!  From the Greek Hoplite to the Roman Centurion, Byzantine Catafract horsemen and Welsh Longbowmen.  Billy the Bastard, who invaded England in 1066 whenn he had a perfectly good Duchy in Normandy already.  Napoleon and Wellington and those beautiful bastards they commanded.  All the way up through the World wars and the Cold War and to our latest escapades about this blue marble we call Terra! 
I’m Also fascinated by the technology and engineering feats accomplished along the way.  Roman aquaducts, water wheels, mills, bridges, fortifications, ships, all that cool stuff, too.  because a war is no fun if you don’t have toys!  I come by this obsession/interest honestly, though.  I was a soldier for 4 years and change back in the 80’s for Uncle Sam, but I got better…  I still speak Russian though.  Sort of.

 

Oh, and I read a lot.  Several books a week, usually.  Grad school makes you read fast, but I loved it and it never was an issue for me.  So, I’ll post on what books I’ve read lately.  And things that  annoy me or spark my interest.  OR I think are cool.  I am eclectic, so you never really know what you will find me yammering about in this magical place called syberspace!

