These are the classifications of humor that Manny, a computer repair tech on Luna, gave to Mycroft, the self-aware super computer in Robert Heinlein’s classic “The Moon is a Harsh Mistress”.  What is it that makes something funny?  And, in Heinleinian terms, is it funny just the one time, or is it always funny?  Or just not funny at all?  

 

Personally, and that is where I think humor resides, it is something individual and experiential.  Something is going to be funny to a person in unique ways.  It’s just like I’ve tried to explain to my family for years about my own humor.  If *I* think it’s funny, then it *IS* funny!  There is no need for external validation.  You know, like whether they laugh at my joke or comment, think it’s funny, a horrible pun, etc.  I can’t count the times I’ve heard them tell me “That’s not funny!” only to be drowned out by my own hilarious laughter. *GRIN*

 

So, what do y’all think?  Is humor unique to the individual?  Are there Universal funny things?  Are there some jokes that are just never funny?  Just a little something to ponder.  And, if you waste your time thinking about this…yeah, it’s my fault.

