I love words!  I mean, if you want to be a writer, you’ve got to love words, right?  Without them, you’d not be reading this!  But, even more than just the sheer breadth of words that one can use when writing or speaking to describe the infinite shades of meaning and nuance one wishes to impart, there are the roots of the words themselves.  This is where my love of history and languages come into play.

 

Most people realize that English isn’t something that just sprang magically into being, fully formed and ready to go, like Athena springing from Zeus’ head.  Well, I sure hope they do, but I’ve met some people that cause me to doubt this statement.  Sidetrack, avoided! Continuing…

Words we use every day have their roots in Latin, Greek, Old French, Old German, and any number of older languages.  Oh, and we Americans steal words like a fat kid steals candy.  Cognates, I believe they are called.  Anyhow, I just love how bits of ancient words come together to form a new word we use now.  To this end, I get a Word of the Day from

http://www.dictionary.com

I highly recommend this to everyone!  It’s free, it builds your vocabulary, and you never again have to say “What does that mean? When standing around a bunch of over-educated

Ph. D.-packing cognoscente.  

 

“What does that last word mean?” you might ask?!? Well, I’m glad you asked, as cognoscente was a recent Word of the Day! *GRIN*

 

cognoscente \kon-yuh-SHEN-tee; kog-nuh-; -SEN-\, noun:

A person with special knowledge of a subject; a connoisseur.

Cognoscente derives from the Obsolete Italian, from Latin cognoscens, cognoscent-, present participle of cognoscere, “to know.”

 

If this little bit of my mental weirdness posted on the Web has got you thinking about words and where they came from, well, then yeah, it’s my fault.

